Highland Community Garden

If we pray, we will believe. If we believe, we will love. If we love, we will serve. Mother Teresa

We had a garden party at church on Saturday. Not the fancy tea and crumpets kind, but the get your hands in the dirt kind. The rain held off and it was followed up by a cookout and some bocce ball.








I’ve been in a class on Wednesday nights at Highland at it’s been quite an experience. At one point I actually planned on dropping out. I was leaving each week with more questions than I had to begin with and no answers. It’s been overwhelming.

I recently learned Israel literally means to struggle (strive, contend, wrestle) with God. It does not mean, God’s people who have everything figured out. Talk about a relief.

I wish it [Christianity] were more productive of good works. I mean real good works… not holy-day keeping, sermon hearing or making long prayers filled with flatteries. Benjamin Franklin

I’m glad we found a place that works to serve others. And I’m not just talking about the garden, or the community dinner every week, or the feeding ministry in Petersburg, or backing USDA bags at the food panty in Colonial Heights… all those things are fantastic.

We talked last week about “Christian living” and what that means. And it all boils down to living with people trying to be Christians together. I’m glad to find that churches are full of people just as screwed up as I am. Trying, striving, struggling… and serving our community. Because we’re all in this together.

2 Comments

Filed under religion

2 responses to “Highland Community Garden

  1. Heather

    Yay. I love churches that believe “faith is a journey, not a guilt trip.” 🙂 Sounds like a good place for you!

  2. rvamama

    Absolutely! I wish they were more common… maybe they are and I just have had a lot of bad luck in the past.

    I read a story today about this sociologist who traveled to Hawaii from the east coast and was totally jet lagged. At 3:00 am he wandered into a sleazy dinner and ordered some coffee.

    Long story short he over hears one of the regulars (a prostitute) say that the next day was her birthday and that she’s never had a party. So the sociologists asks the owner (Harry) if he and his wife would like to throw a surprise birthday party for the women (Agnes) the next night. Harry likes the idea and makes a birthday cake. The sociologist picks up party decorations and the next night the place is packed with working girls. At 3:30 Agnes and her friends walk in and everyone yells, “Happy Birthday!” and sings to her. She’s so shocked she can hardly move. Tears are in her eyes by the time the cake comes out. She blows out the candles and after a long moment of silence asks, “Is it okay Harry if we don’t eat it. I mean, is it okay if I keep it for awhile.” She walks out carrying the cake like it’s the Holy Grail.

    At this point everyone is a little stunned and unsure of what to do so the sociologist says, “What do you say we pray?” and he leads a prayer for Agnes.
    The owner is a little peeved, “You never told my you were a priest? What church are you with?”
    The sociologist says, “I belong to the church that throws birthday parties for whores at 3:30 in morning.”
    Stilled hostile the owner says, “No you don’t. There’s no church like that. If there was I would join it. I’d join a church like that!”

    Amen brother.
    So that was like a blog entry in itself. oops 🙂

Leave a Reply

