Dwight Schrute and Fellow Beet Lovers.

Dwight Schrute. Fellow beet lover.

Dwight Schrute. Fellow beet lover.

I love beets. Love them. Roasted in a little olive oil and they taste like candy. Seriously. I had spinach, beet and mushroom salad for lunch today. Heavy on the beets. I made a dish with beets and goat cheese when Dane visited last summer. He and Don freaked out but promised they’d try it. There weren’t any leftovers. They became beet loving converts.

We are having dinner at a friends house this evening and I said I’d bring the dessert. Secret Chocolate Cake. One guess on what the secret is…

2 cups beets cooked, peeled and chopped (I cheated and used canned beets. I have something else in store for the fresh ones in our fridge).
1/2 cup applesauce (we used the unsweeted kind. Mott’s #2 ingredient is high fructose corn syrup. yummy).
Puree’ in blender until smooth. Set aside

1 1/2 cups suger
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup plain yogurt
(which I started to make in our crock-pot because I’m awesome)
3 eggs
Combine in a large mixing bowl. Beat with electric mixer 2 minutes.

1/2 cup baking cocoa
1 1/2 t vanilla

Add along with the pureed beets; beat another 90 seconds.

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 t baking soda
1/2 t sale
1 t cinnamon
(optional)
Gradually sift into the batter, mixing it in with a spoon but stirring only until blended.

1/2 c chocolate chips and/or nuts (chopped)
Stir in. Pour into greased 9 x 13-inch baking pan. Bake in preheated oven at 350F until knife inserted in center comes out clean (40-50 min). To bake in a bundt pan, pour half of batter into the greased pan, sprinkle choc chips evenly on top, then add remaining to batter.

Summer variation: Substitue 2-3 Cups shredded raw zucchini or summer squash for the cooked, pureed beets. Use cinnamon and add 1/2 t allspice.

From the cookbook Simply in Season: a world community cookbook. This cake is good plain, but I’d image would be good frosted (or served in bowls with applesauce).

Note: I am not delusional. I realize that just because this contains whole wheat and my beloved beets, it is not health food. It’s dessert. Also, I am not advocating the “hide your kid’s vegetables” craze (i.e. Sneaky Chef,  Deceptively Delicious). I think this is  a ludicrous trend. Kids should learn to eat, and love, vegetables. Not vegetables parading as chocolate cake.

However, chocolate cake with beta carotene…and folate…and vitamin C …and, you get the idea….is not a bad thing.

7 Comments

Filed under cooking

7 responses to “Dwight Schrute and Fellow Beet Lovers.

  1. The only reason I’m not mentally gagging is because I’ve had Sneaky Chef spinach/blueberry brownies and know that you have no idea that spinach and blueberries are in it!

    But please. Don’t bring any chocolate cake over tomorrow morning for our coffee playdate. LOL

  2. please teach me how to roast beets! I have a new found love for them. I’ve been eating a salad very similar this week, with ground turkey as well – it’s so awesome. I hear dinner soon – beet night!

  3. donmarkphoto

    Beth, it’s really easy. I roast them in olive oil. But diet wise you may just want to drizzle them in 1 t. olive oil (and sprinkle with sea salt) AFTER they cook. They are really sweet. Perfect just by themselves.
    Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Cut the greens away from the beets, leaving about 1/4 inch of stems. (You can saute the greens. I don’t think they are as good as collards or watercress etc. but there okay.) Scrub the beets and place in a baking dish (or lidded ovenproof casserole dish). Add 1/4 inch of water to the dish. Cover tightly. Place in the oven and roast 30-60 minutes (depending on the size). Small – 30 min. Large – up to an hour. They’re done when they’re easily penetrated with the tip of a knife. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the covered baking dish. Cut away the ends and slip off the skins.

    And Sharon. I’ll see you in an hour. Cake in hand (it is NOT staying in my house).

  4. Pingback: The latest on our favorite little man. « The Marks

  5. danaleimbach

    HMMMM…Sounds great. How do you roast beets? Also that is fantastic Owen learned how to catch a football. quite a feat. Love his little mean face on your blog. Goodluck with the potty training. He and you guys will do fine Later on, Mom

  6. danaleimbach

    Nevermind…just read the recipee to Beth. Can’t wait to try

  7. I love beets. I’m with you 100%.

Leave a Reply

